About me

This is a blog about me and the things I dig.


Thursday, August 26, 2010

Matt Stevens - Echo


If you loved the Omar Rodriguez Lopez stuff I posted in May, than you will really dig this too. 

It's more instrumental guitar type stuff that has had me groovin' in the car for the last few weeks. I could easily see him being featured on a few movie soundtracks in the near future.

Great thinking music!  Honestly...it's just good. Get it!

Highly Recommended!! 

 <a href="http://mattstevens.bandcamp.com/album/echo">Burning Bandstands by Matt Stevens</a>

Grab the album (for free if you like, since you can name your own price) HERE!!

Matt Stevens Website!

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Elite Force - Burning Man 2010 DJ Mix



  Elite Force - Burning Man 2010 RIPEcast Mix by The Space Cowboys


Track List

1. Intro - LSD
2. Seductive - Take Control (Tom Stephan Mix)
3. Djedjetronic - Bit This Thin
4. Chemical Brothers - Horse Power (re-fueled)
5. Proxy - Vibrate (Noob Mix)
6. Lee Coombs - Italo Disco (Maelstrom Mix)
7. Dom G - Work (DJ Dan & Mike Balance Mix)
8. Chasing Shadows - Amirah (Elite Force Revamp)
9. Elite Force & Various - Hangover Deep (Revamp)
10. Chems Vs Dyson - Swoon (Elite Force Revamp)
10b. Elite Force - Psychotrope Jams (extract)
11. Zodiac Cartel Vs Elite Force - Devil's Mashup
12. Felix Luker - Mechanical
13. Paul Chambers - Yeah Techno! (BeatauCue Mix)
14. Bitrok - Closest Strangers (Loops of Fury Mix)
15. JDS - Blackout (Elite Force Re-fix)
16. Felix da Housecat - Oops
17. Don Diablo - Who's Your Daddy (Black Noise Mix)
18. Ed Rush & Plaza da Funk - Keep Your Pacman (a Revamp)
19. MJ Cole - Sincere (Nero Vs Elite Force Revamp)
20. New Originals - 1979
21. Excision - Subsonic (Elite Force Revamp)
22. Elite Force & Bar 9 - Shaolin Style
23. Outro - Now Generation

And for a free download of the Elite Force vs. Prodigy "Smack the Force Up" MP3 visit: http://t.opsp.in/K9lB

Elite Force Website!

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Gemma Ray - It's A Shame About Gemma Ray

After the success of her last album Lights Out Zoltar!, you might expect Gemma Ray to release a safe follow up — but this is where you would be wrong. For the most part, this is a good thing.

It’s A Shame About Gemma Ray
(a nod to The Lemonheads album) is a series of cover versions of some of her favorite tracks ranging from Etta James to Sonic Youth via Lee Hazlewood, Mudhoney and Buddy Holly. She recorded them with Matt Verta-Ray at his New York studio between Christmas and New Years Eve of 2009/20010. Ray’s dark, brooding voice and the western blues style in which most of the songs are performed actually adds another dimension to most of the tracks with the exception of Everyday, which is really slowed down and sung in such a way that it just falls flat.

The rest of the album easily makes up for this misstep with selections like Sonic Youth’s Drunken Butterfly performed to the music of Rosemary’s Baby or Cy Coleman’s Hey Big Spender which almost ventures into Portishead trip-hop territory. Other intriguing takes on classic tunes include Mudhoney’s Touch Me I’m Sick, which sounds like it could have been an outtake from the Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me soundtrack, and Memphis Minnie’s Looking the World Over, which would make George Thorogood proud with it’s driving guitar and catchy beat.

Over all, this album is a nice collection of interpretations of some of Gemma’s favorites but I would rather hear working her magic on some new original tunes. It’s a Shame About Gemma Ray is definitely worth the listen but probably won’t be a purchase for all but the die hard fans. Being that Gemma Ray is still in her early 20′s, I have hope that we have many years of great music to look forward to from such a gifted artist.

Gemma Ray Website!

Monday, August 02, 2010

BoomBaptism Beat Tape

Another free full album. Great 8-bit Instrumental hip hop!

Had this in the car for a few days and LOVE it.


<a href="http://boombaptist.bandcamp.com/album/boombaptism-beat-tape-2010-archivist-records">Mario Jump Dilla by BoomBaptist</a>

Grab it HERE!