About me

This is a blog about me and the things I dig.


Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Green Velvet - Dank (Breakdown Remix)

I recently was turned on to Breakdown and here is their remix of Green Velvet's 'Dank'. Check out the video below.

Between the horns and the pulsating synths, this is the kind of track to keep you warm till summer is back!

Download it HERE!

Breakdown Website!

Green Velvet Website!

Chromeo - Hot Mess Video


 Here is Chromeo's new video for 'Hot Mess'.

 Chromeo - "Hot Mess" from Paradoxal Inc on Vimeo.

Check them out on their North American 'Risky Business' tour, coming early 2011.

Buy your tix now, here! Click the pic to see if they are coming to your town!

 Chromeo Website!

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Seldom Cinq

I recently discovered Seldom Cinq, a tech-house artist who is really floating my boat at the moment. I thought I would share some tracks with you lot...give him some support!!!

Here are a few tracks to wet your whistle.

This first one has been on repeat in my house all week!

  Organised Chaos by Seldom Cinq


This is a bit different and more for when you feel like you need to chill.

  Darbuka Fever by Seldom Cinq

You can also sample his newest EP below.

Seldom Cinq - Mind Blank by Patchy Recordings

Don't forget to to buy it on BEATPORT!


Seldom Cinq Souncloud!

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Eight:FX - 5 Years Of Bass Anniversary Album


I got home today and found this lovely bit of awesome in my inbox...hope you all enjoy it!

In their own words....

"We've just kicked off our 5 Year anniversary releases with a new compilation, "5 Years Of Bass", and as a thank you to everyone who has supported us over the years we're giving you a free download of the whole album...

Track list is as follows....

1. mrk1 : iLOVE (Original)
2. Aquadrop : Champion Sound
3. KillaHurtz : To Be A SLUT!
4. Bulbajar : Close My Open
5. Crim : Bitch!
6. RMS : Cold
7. Aquadrop : Sea
8. Killall : Bass War
9. Wobbelix : Red Violin
10. mrk1 : Turn Me On
11. CYRUS : In The Background
12. Rebel Sonix : Ankle Grinder
13. Hatcha & Lost : Tag Along
14. Scott Nixon : Rock Out
15. Aquadrop : Monsterz
16. Trimaxis : Doomchore
18. CYRUS : Golden Gate
19. TES LA ROK : Hot Jam
20. Nika D & DJ Absurd : Felt The Need (MRK1 Vocal Remix)

Full download HERE!!

If you would like to purchase the album, see the links below.

Album Out Now at Beatport.
Juno Download.

5 Years ago, at the age of 16, label boss Josh Brandon pressed up 200 copies of his latest bedroom production and began walking round London selling them to anyone who would listen. And 5 years and over 50 releases on we are proud to have been able to deliver so many top quality tracks from so many amazing artists, including some of Dubstep's leading artists and most prolific rising talent. From being home to Kiss FM's Hatcha, MRK1, Kromestar, Tes La Rok, and Cyrus, to Bare Noize, Lost, Rebel Sonix & Aquadrop.

Gaining consistent support from the biggest tastemakers, the label's singles and compilations have gone on to reach the top echelons of all the leading download store charts including iTunes, Beatport and Juno.

This album is a journey back through the years, showcasing 20 completely unmixed tracks including forthcoming exclusives all the way across to the label's biggest anthems since it's launch.

Thanks for all your support over the years and we hope you enjoy the album"

Here are a few of the tracks...

Preview all the tracks HERE!!! 


EightFX Website!

Monday, November 15, 2010

Riva Starr presents STARR TRAXX - MORE (SNATCH! 09) out Nov the 29th!


Riva Starr introduces us to his brand new alter-ego, STARR TRAXX and takes us back... way back.

With plenty of punch and lashings of funk the piano riff of "More" draws inspiration from by gone house classics, while a simple male vocal gives it some early '90s flavor.

Bulgarian producer Kink takes time out from rekindling acid house classics to rework "More" into a timeless gem, using deep keys and a spread of 90's sounds, whilst Pirupa & Pigi retain the harder-edged dance floor aesthetics of the original.

In Snatch! tradition this powerful piano led cut, with its vibrant house vibe, shows just how comfortably Riva can navigate the musical spectrum.

Check out a sample of "More" below.


Friday, November 12, 2010

Polly Mackey & The Pleasure Principle - Higher (JEUCE REWORK)


After extensive 2010 festival appearances which included HMV’s inaugural Next Big Thing Festival and - from 2,000 acts - to officially open SXSW 2010, Welsh act Polly Mackey & The Pleasure Principle release their debut commercially-released single ‘Higher’ via The Playground Records. Produced by Robert Harder (Babyshambles, Brian Eno, David Byrne), ‘Higher’ combines Polly’s reflective lyrical talent, thumping rhythms and an anthemic driving chorus that won’t be leaving you any time soon.

The Welsh band’s ‘fan only’ E.P. ‘Silent Film’ received extensive national & regional radio play with the track ‘The Wall’ recently being featured on an episode of BBC Radio 1 online/BBC 2 Television's teen drama series The Cut – an episode which also featured tracks from Florence & The Machine, Thom Yorke, Mumford & Sons and The Pixies.

With all of these plus an unusually large number of other impressive early accomplishments behind them, 2010/2011 can be clearly seen as a breakthrough period for the band. 

 JEUCE is in charge of remix duties here and they don't disappoint with their amazing and moving rework!

Check out the JEUCE rework below.

  Polly Mackey & The Pleasure Principle - Higher (JEUCE REWORK) by ThePlayground

 Download the JEUCE rework HERE!

Polly Mackey & The Pleasure Principle Website!

JEUCE Wesite!

Friday, November 05, 2010

Boemklatsch 'One More Day' EP


Party, DJ and Producer crew Boemklatsch  has teamed up with Mike Lord to make a song fit for peaktime dance moments. One More Day is already played on BBC1 radio and has major support from DJ's around the globe. Remixers High Rankin, Hidden Cat, PeaceTreaty and Stereo Killaz do their interpretation of this 'goodvibe' track. B side Nukes Of Hazard is more Techno-ish, so combined with remixers RipTidE and Shameboy it fits well in the whole release. 

1A Boemklatsch ft Mike Lord - One More Day (Original)
2A Boemklatsch ft Mike Lord - One More Day (Radio edit)
3A Boemklatsch ft Mike Lord - One More Day (High Ranking remix)
4A Boemklatsch ft Mike Lord - One More Day (PeaceTreaty remix) !!!!!!!!!!!!!HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !
5A Boemklatsch ft Mike Lord - One More Day (Stereo Killaz remix)
6A Boemklatsch ft Mike Lord - One More Day (Hidden Cat remix)
1B Boemklatsch - Nukes Of Hazard (Original)
2B Boemklatsch - Nukes Of Hazard (Shameboy remix) !!!!HOT!!!!
3B Boemklatsch - Nukes Of Hazard (RipTidE remix)


Boemklatsch ft Mike Lord - One More Day (Stereo Killaz remix) 

Here is a preview of some of the other tracks on the EP.

  Boemklatsch 'One More Day' EP by Boemklatsch

Go grab the whole EP on BEATPORT now!!

Boemklatsch Website!